Rowboat Book Club #110

All Her Little Secrets

by Wanda M. Morris 

In this fast-paced thriller, Wanda M. Morris crafts a twisty mystery about a black lawyer who gets in over her head after the sudden death of her boss. A debut perfect for fans of Attica Locke, Alyssa Cole, Harlan Coben, and Celeste Ng, with shades of How to Get Away with Murder and John Grisham’s The Firm.

Everyone has something to hide…

Ellice Littlejohn seemingly has it all: an Ivy League law degree, a well-paying job as a corporate attorney in midtown Atlanta, great friends, and a “for fun” relationship with a rich, charming executive—her white boss, Michael.

But everything changes one cold January morning when Ellice goes to meet Michael… and finds him dead with a gunshot to his head.

And then she walks away like nothing has happened. Why? Ellice has been keeping a cache of dark secrets, including a small-town past and a kid brother who’s spent time on the other side of the law. She can’t be thrust into the spotlight—again.

But instead of grieving this tragedy, people are gossiping, the police are getting suspicious, and Ellice, the company’s lone black attorney, is promoted to replace Michael. While the opportunity is a dream-come-true, Ellice just can’t shake the feeling that something is off.

When she uncovers shady dealings inside the company, Ellice is trapped in an impossible ethical and moral dilemma. Suddenly, Ellice’s past and present lives collide as she launches into a pulse-pounding race to protect the brother she tried to save years ago and stop a conspiracy far more sinister than she could have ever imagined

Rowboat Book Club #109

Taste: My Life through Food

by Stanley Tucci 

From award-winning actor and food obsessive Stanley Tucci comes an intimate and charming memoir of life in and out of the kitchen.

Before Stanley Tucci became a household name with The Devil Wears Prada, The Hunger Games, and the perfect Negroni, he grew up in an Italian American family that spent every night around the table. He shared the magic of those meals with us in The Tucci Cookbook and The Tucci Table, and now he takes us beyond the recipes and into the stories behind them.

Taste is a reflection on the intersection of food and life, filled with anecdotes about growing up in Westchester, New York, preparing for and filming the foodie films Big Night and Julie & Julia, falling in love over dinner, and teaming up with his wife to create conversation-starting meals for their children. Each morsel of this gastronomic journey through good times and bad, five-star meals and burnt dishes, is as heartfelt and delicious as the last.

Written with Stanley’s signature wry humour and nostalgia, Taste is a heartwarming read that will be irresistible for anyone who knows the power of a home-cooked meal.

Rowboat Book Club #108

Black Nerd Problems

by William EvansOmar Holmon 

The creators of the popular website Black Nerd Problems bring their witty and unflinching insight to this engaging collection of pop culture essays—on everything from Mario Kart to issues of representation—that “will fill you with joy and give you hope for the future of geek culture” (Ernest Cline, #1 New York Times bestselling author).

When William Evans and Omar Holmon founded Black Nerd Problems, they had no idea whether anyone beyond their small circle of friends would be interested in their little corner of the internet. But soon after launching, they were surprised to find out that there was a wide community of people who hungered for fresh perspectives on all things nerdy.

In the years since, Evans and Holmon have built a large, dedicated fanbase eager for their brand of cultural critiques, whether in the form of a laugh-out-loud, raucous Game of Thrones episode recap or an eloquent essay on dealing with grief through stand-up comedy. Now, they are ready to take the next step with this vibrant and hilarious essay collection, which covers everything from X-Men to Breonna Taylor with “alternately hilarious, thought-provoking, and passionate” (School Library Journal) insight and intelligence.

A much needed and fresh pop culture critique from the perspective of people of color, “this hugely entertaining, eminently thoughtful collection is a master class in how powerful—and fun—cultural criticism can be”

Rowboat Book Club #107

Curious One: My Adventures As a Little Boy in India

by Bhupendra Patel

“Curious One” is Bhupendra Patel’s engaging and heart-warming memoir, documenting his early childhood memories growing up in India. During his childhood from the ages of 5 to 8, Patel moved to three different locations, and four different houses that deeply impacted his memory which explains how he could reveal all the details so vividly for readers. Patel is a part of a farming family who found himself being raised in Vadodara, the second biggest city of Gujarat, India, a rural farming village named Luna and the magical city of Mumbai, India. In each location his formative years were shaped by caretakers who had varying degrees of attention and oversight over his daily life and routines, yet each of them played a unique role in his life. The book converts everyday childhood adventure snapshots into words and vividly portrays Patel’s distant past.

Bhupendra Patel finds a balance to expertly take readers along his journey of day-to-day activities and leaves it to them to figure out why he has become who he is today at seventy years of age. He retired from his distinguished career as a nuclear submarine engineer and an information technology expert. Bhupendra currently lives in the scenic town of Mystic, Connecticut. His writing of real-life events is descriptive, crisp, and full of life as he examines how to find wisdom and joy from elders. Through it all, Patel’s deep love for women; his mother, grandmother, and uncle’s wife shines through. This book explores how being curious at a young age nurtures a child’s mind that can mold an individual as an adult.

First released in hardcover on September 20, 2021, this 300+ page book is divided into four parts, each relating to a year of his childhood. It’s an easy read that will make the reader not want to put it down. Each story will resonate differently and linger in your thoughts for quite a while afterwards. The stories will transport you to a different time and land while you enjoy looking at some black and white photographs taken by the author himself.

Rowboat Book Club #106

The Push: A Novel by [Ashley Audrain]

The Push

by Ashley Audrain 

A tense, page-turning psychological drama about the making and breaking of a family–and a woman whose experience of motherhood is nothing at all what she hoped for–and everything she feared.

Blythe Connor is determined that she will be the warm, comforting mother to her new baby Violet that she herself never had.

But in the thick of motherhood’s exhausting early days, Blythe becomes convinced that something is wrong with her daughter–she doesn’t behave like most children do.

Or is it all in Blythe’s head? Her husband, Fox, says she’s imagining things. The more Fox dismisses her fears, the more Blythe begins to question her own sanity, and the more we begin to question what Blythe is telling us about her life as well.

Then their son Sam is born–and with him, Blythe has the blissful connection she’d always imagined with her child. Even Violet seems to love her little brother. But when life as they know it is changed in an instant, the devastating fall-out forces Blythe to face the truth.

The Push is a tour de force you will read in a sitting, an utterly immersive novel that will challenge everything you think you know about motherhood, about what we owe our children, and what it feels like when women are not believed. 

Rowboat Book Club #105

Beyond the Tides (Prince Edward Island Shores, #1)

by Liz Johnson 

When Meg Whitaker’s father decides to sell the family’s lobster-fishing business to her high school nemesis, she sets out to prove she should inherit it instead. Though she’s never had any interest in running the small fleet–or even getting on a boat due to her persistent seasickness–she can’t stand to see Oliver Ross take over. Not when he ruined her dreams for a science scholarship and an Ivy League education ten years ago.

Oliver isn’t proud of what he did back then. Angry and broken by his father walking out on his family, he lashed out at Meg–an innocent bystander. But owning a respected fishing fleet on Prince Edward Island is the opportunity of a lifetime, and he’s not about to walk away just because Meg wants him to.

Meg’s father has the perfect solution: Oliver and Meg must work the business together, and at the end of the season, he’ll decide who gets it. Along the way, they may discover that their stories are more similar than they thought . . . and their dreams aren’t what they expected.

Bestselling author Liz Johnson invites you back to Prince Edward Island for a brand-new series about family, forgiveness, and the kind of love that heals all wounds.

Rowboat Book Club #104

40 Hours

by Kathrin Lange 

Somewhere in Berlin, a man is being crucified. One detective has 40 hours to find him, or thousands will die…

Faris Iskander, an Egyptian-born German national, is a detective on enforced leave when he receives a video of a man being crucified. The first in a series of religiously fuelled attacks, Faris must act quickly to save the man and stop his aggressors. If he fails, thousands of people in Berlin will die in pre-coordinated explosions.

But this case is especially complicated for Faris, who was placed on suspension after avenging a racial attack. Forced to face his own demons, can Faris uncover the truth in time to save lives and prevent catastrophe? Or will his personal involvement compromise his mission?

Newly-translated from the German and set against the cultural tumult of twenty-first century Berlin, Forty Hours is a fast-paced, intelligent crime thriller that explores ideas of guilt, redemption, identity and belonging. It also offers English-speaking readers a fascinating glimpse into the realities of life and policing in the German capital, and will please all who enjoy high quality police procedurals and crime stories.